African American, family, Humor, Satire

Study: Cussing Out Your Children Is Bad For Them

By Craig Bates

icecubeNick Persons learned to not cuss at his kids, and they’re now thriving

(BROOKLYN) A groundbreaking report is challenging the way some African-American parents interact with their children.

An extensive study by the National Association of Elementary School Teachers shows that black children whose parents use profanity towards them are 100 percent more likely to have lower self-esteem than children whose parents do not cuss them out.

“While telling a child to ‘Shut the fuck up’ or ‘I’m gonna fuck you up’ may help the parent show they don’t ‘take no shit,’ it’s actually detrimental to the child’s well-being,” NAEST spokeswoman Connie Brown told The Peoples News. “These are really incredible findings.”

The study, which focused solely on black children, flies in the face of conventional wisdom among many African Americans. For years, playgrounds in urban neighborhoods have been filled with joyous tots romping around until parents screeched out threats in language that would make Lil’ Kim blush.

The syndrome, called ‘Parenting While Profane,’ is most devastating to the child when it occurs in public, according to the NAEST report: “Children who get cussed out publicly are more likely to be overweight, have babies while still in their teens and drop out of school. They also feel more alone because they can’t help but see all the adults around them avert their eyes as the angry mom continues spewing venom.”

Some African-American parents, however, thought the study was, in their words, “some bullshit.”

“Sometimes you just got to tell a kid that you gonna knock them the fuck out. That’s how they get straightened up,” said unemployed mechanic Monroe ‘Pearl’ Tompkins, 37, who has at least five children. “Hey, my mama’s old man used to punch me in the chest. That was way worse.”

Gloria McTaggart, a single mother of four, agreed as she watched three of her children play at Lincoln Park in Crown Heights.

“My mama used to cuss me out–and she still do, the old bitch. But I turned out fine,” said McTaggart, 22. “This ain’t no easy world. My kids need some toughening up, and that’s what I’m here for.”

Still, psychologists insists profanity is harmful to the child’s welfare.

“You see these children grow up to cuss out teachers in school, strangers on the subway, and then their own kids. It goes on and on unyielding,” said Dr. Alvin Poussaint. “Someone has to break the cycle somewhere.”

That message seemed to click for some parents like single mom Sheila Thornhill, whose youngest son, Clifford Streeter Jr., is 6.

“I noticed early on that when I would shake my fist at my son and call him a ‘dumb ass motherfucker’ that he didn’t do as well in school as on days when I didn’t call him a dumb ass motherfucker,” Thornhill said.

“Now I try to encourage him. When he brings home good grades, I tell him he’s doing great, that he’s my good little nigga.”

Poussaint at first shook his head when told of the Thornhill’s comment, but slowly acknowledged you have to start somewhere.

Note: This article is satire, brought to you by the creative minds at The Peoples News.

© 2009 The Peoples News

Share This Story

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Study: Cussing Out Your Children Is Bad For Them

  1. Hilarious and true…that’s why I don’t get upset when the teens I work with act like they don’t have any manners-they were groomed to be rude. I just do my best to show them that there is different (and better) way to do things.

    Posted by Jenny B. | February 17, 2009, 11:00 am
  2. “My mama used to cuss me out–and she still do, the old bitch. But I turned out fine.”

    That’s priceless.

    Posted by Eurasian Sensation | February 18, 2009, 7:32 am
  3. How about “Shut the Front Door”? LOL

    Posted by Daymon The Basketeere | February 22, 2009, 12:46 pm
  4. im white and my mom and GRAMMA cuss me out…

    Posted by white | January 2, 2010, 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

The Peoples News on Twitter

The People’s News Archive

invisible hit counter
