Humor

The Peoples News Readers Speak…And We Respond

j0409234.jpg

Since The Peoples News (TPN) went live March 2, our stories have received hundreds of comments. We appreciate all of them—even the ones that call us racist—so keep writing! A lot of the comments have common themes, so we figured they deserved some sort of response. Our man Xavier Muhammad takes up the task this week:

We’ll start with Schu: I really don’t get “The Peoples News” what people are you talking about???? This is the biggest waste of energy I’ve seen since Bush’s last speech

Xavier Muhammad: Schu, there are many ways to say ‘I love you,’ but I think you just invented a new one. Sure, Bush’s last speech was a pretty great waste of time but did you write the White House afterward? No, but you wrote to us. Why? Because our site is much more fun. Plus, it’s owned and operated by black people, so thanks for supporting the community!

TARA favored Judge Cabrera’s ruling to take away the naming rights of African American women: I am so happy with this decision. I have a hard time remembering the names of my children friends. My children’s names are Tyhir, Terell, Tyrese, and Tytianna. Some of the names of my oldest son’s classmates are just plan horrible.

Muhammad: Umm…OK, Tara. Have ever heard the phrase ‘pot meet kettle’? It’s a good thing you named your kids before the judge rendered his verdict.

Our friend Zion had this question for Judge Cabrera: What about Biblical names….will he rule against these names as well?

Muhammad: Would we really want that? I don’t think the Bible would be nearly as good without wacky names like Methuselah, Melchizedek and Jesus.

t90 is not a fan of Judge Cabrera’s ruling in the ‘Naming’ story. She said it’s bad enough already that “they know your race with the fifth number in your social security number. African Americans fifth number is always an odd number.”

Muhammad: [uncomfortable pause]…I’m African American, t90. The fifth number in my social security is 4, which, last I checked, is an even number. But thanks for the, uh, information.

Mike got on his soapbox about Cabrera: i think the jodge is raises, because how are u going to have three whites agree before u name your kid.

Muhammad: I think the real problem, Mike, is that people who can’t spell get to name their kids too.

Niki Williams asked about the ‘Naming’ story: Is this for real or is this someone writing some satire article? This is my first time at you site because someone sent me this story and this is so hard to believe although they probably would like to do something like this, especially in Detroit, MI.

Muhammad: Niki, the writer, Bill Matthews, is from Detroit and swears he thought it was true when he was making it up.

Pat Fields asked an important question: This site is a hoot. Please tell me you are not a group of caucasions poking fun at us.

Muhammad: I promise, Pat….everyone involved with the creation, writing, editing and moderation of this site is African American, except for Craig. He’s half black, half Jewish. He calls himself ‘Blewish.” Oh, and the white man who forces us to write this stuff is also not black. [Just kidding. He is black].

Quincy Ryan wonders: Is there a reason that the initials for the alleged “Carlton Banks Society” are the same for the Columbia Broadcasting System, aka, CBS? It was alluded to in the article. The reason I ask is have you looked at CBS’ lineup lately? Eddie Murphy (I think) once joked that NBC stood for “No Blacks or Coloreds.” Just wondering…

Muhammad: Q, we were initially going to call it the Bryant Gumbel and Robin Givens Society for White Speaking Black Students, but figured the acronym BGRGSWSBS wouldn’t generate as many conspiracy theories as CBS.

Anaya looked into the ‘Condi’ story: I googled this and got no reliable hits that substantiate what is claimed in this article. Surely, if the Secretary of State got involved it would be on CNN or NBC. Are we spreading ignorance? Or are we truly able going to publish information that true and accurate as most people won’t take the time to see if it’s accurate, they’ll just forward the foolish/ignorance on.

Muhammad: Oh my god, Anaya, please tell this to my cousin Carla. She sends out everything without vetting it. How many times can I get that story about a missing black girl whose parents say the police aren’t looking for her? Or the one with about the Voting Rights Act being repealed? Or Oprah asking Tommy Hilfiger to leave her show? We at TPN in no way condone spreading stories like this, unless they were written by us.

And finally, we have Michelle Scott, who thought the ‘Naming’ story was offensive: My brain was actually p*ssed off that I took time out of my day to read this pathetic “wake-up call” attempt.

Muhammad: It must be asked, Michelle: How did the rest of your body feel?

Thanks again for writing. We read all the comments and will respond when we can!

© 2008 The Peoples News

Discussion

25 thoughts on “The Peoples News Readers Speak…And We Respond

  1. I’m not black … this site isn’t like… segregated or anything, right? I can come and go as I please? I can read whatever I want?

    Posted by Renee | March 26, 2008, 9:45 am
  2. I think this is great. I don’t know how many times I’ve had to reply all and say “Look, this sh*t isn’t true.

    Do your research.

    Just like CNN, FOX, etc… Don’t believe everything you here. There are two sides to every story, even the ones on the news.

    Keep ’em comin’ guys!

    Posted by D 2 da izzle | March 26, 2008, 10:42 am
  3. Loving your site so far! I found you through snopes.com regarding the kids’ names piece. Some people just don’t know humor when they see it. Keep up the good work!

    (I have to admit I was a bit disappointed to see that this post was going to be a response to the comments, but happy that your responses were just as irreverent as the rest of the content here!)

    Good luck to you all, and I’m looking forward to more great satire here!

    Posted by jope | March 26, 2008, 12:04 pm
  4. I think your articles and replies there to are out-#@%$*-standing. I picked up this website via a snopes.com response to someone who was questioning the “Naming” article. I can’t remember how long it has been since I laughed so hard. My only concern is that I am an older melanin-challenged male working in a HBCU. My co-workers look on me as if I am “white”. Is it politically correct and OK for me to visit your website and to enjoy it? Even though I am “white”, I can’t afford to alienate the folks I work for and lose my job. Looking forward to future articles and your continued success in all your endeavors. Live long and prosper.

    Posted by Tim | March 26, 2008, 12:11 pm
  5. iM lOVIN THIS!!!!! LMAO — Oh and by the way this name is inspired by all those who really can’t stand dem U’neeq names.

    Keep ’em comin . . .

    Posted by La'N'R'G-cia | March 26, 2008, 12:58 pm
  6. You all are just hilarious! I love your site. I thought the name article was hilarious. Keep up the good work. Finally a good black website. I’m hooked!

    Posted by Amy | March 26, 2008, 1:26 pm
  7. When the naming story was forwarded to me, the disclaimer had been omiited. Thank goodness my daughter thought it was not quite dare I say….”kosher” becuse of the judge’s name.
    Glad to know this site exists, it makes me laugh and inspires me to pay closer attention to current events.

    Posted by Notmyaddress | March 26, 2008, 1:33 pm
  8. This one Just killed the stereotype that one black person can speak for all blacks. I went to a private high school and many times, I was the only black person in my class. I was (and am) tired of being the spokesperson for Black America. We are all the same but soooo different. Thanks for highlighting that we don’t all think alike, but have our own identities and opinions, KUDOS!

    Posted by Rose | March 26, 2008, 1:37 pm
  9. HILARIOUS! I don’t get a chance to read all the comments but the comment from t90 took the cake and your response was classic!

    Posted by Tazzee | March 26, 2008, 5:36 pm
  10. I see where one of your readers, says all black people have an odd number. As the fifth number in there social security number. This person is really dealing with there own race issues. My mother, daghter, and myself have either four, or eight as our fifth number. You also have a reader that spelled racist using the spelling raises. Where do you find your readers? Do they actually think about the fact, that they can’t spell before they post comments?

    The Peoples News responds: Yes, Marquis, we do think about whether people can spell. For instance, if a word like d-a-u-g-h-t-e-r trips someone up, we might edit it out. Yes, you caught yourself in a second email 20 minutes later, but we still had to put you on a blast. 🙂

    Posted by marquis | March 26, 2008, 7:00 pm
  11. Just a little quick suggestion – maybe you guys should consider making the statement that what you’re writing is satirical just a _little_ more visible. I can understand if you think that it’s so immediately obvious that only a very dense sort of person might think otherwise, but still, you have to feel sorry for those who do take this seriously … maybe enlighten them a bit with a bigger disclaimer 🙂

    Posted by felula | March 26, 2008, 10:06 pm
  12. Luv it….reminds me of the site blackpeopleloveus.com.

    Posted by Kee | March 28, 2008, 5:08 pm
  13. Brilliant satire! I found your site by accident and love your “stuff!”

    We edit and publish a weekly newspaper in North San Diego County and while I would love to post one of your satires, I fear a great many of my readers wouldn’t “get it.’ (Our audience is generally upscale, mature, comfortable financially, well educated; many would get it, but some wouldn’t. And they’d raise hell).

    You and your writers are brilliant minds. More! More!

    Posted by lyled | March 29, 2008, 2:39 pm
  14. Hi guys and girl!

    “A thousand thanks!” as we express it in modest Danish, when we really appreciate something.

    I can’t remember having laughed so much on a Sunday morning. I love social satire and this is the best!

    Best wishes from another female who shares Shawna’s life ambition about proving that “woman are funny”.

    P.S. I am also a psychologist who needs all the help I can get in creating a balance to the misery and pain I encounter in my work; not to speak of my political actions but don’t get me started here. Suffice to say that Obama’s name is on the back of my minivan.

    Posted by Margit | March 30, 2008, 2:56 pm
  15. same as above…I have no idea how I found this site but I really am enjoying it. Have done other satirical sites (Onion and Satirewire) in the past and this is just as “smart”. You have a winner.

    Posted by rick s | March 30, 2008, 3:48 pm
  16. THANK YOU FOR THIS WEBSITE!!! I laughed until I cried when I read the article on black women losing their naming rights. I too have a satirical sense of humor so it really got to me. I was sitting in court reading e-mail on my blackberry, and I almost got put out for laughing. Ya’ll are off the hook and I LOVE IT! Keep up the good work….

    Posted by 'Chelle | March 31, 2008, 10:05 pm
  17. Oh my god; this is the funniest thing I’ve seen in a long time. Thank you so much for the outstanding satire; its about time someone gave The Onion a run for its money. Keep up the good work.

    Posted by M | April 1, 2008, 2:56 pm
  18. I also found your site here through Snopes.com. I am enjoying everything I’ve read thus far, and hope you’ll keep up the excellent quality!

    Posted by Mrs. Pilgrim | April 1, 2008, 5:29 pm
  19. This is some hilariously clever stuff. I should be asleep, but I’m glad to miss some shut-eye if I can get a few laughs instead. I need one of you writers in my friend circle! Life would be much more enjoyable. 🙂

    Posted by Paulette | April 1, 2008, 11:34 pm
  20. I personally love your disclaimer about the articles being satire. Anyone who thinks they’re true is *thinking*, which means you’ve succeeded! Carry on!

    Posted by Kalli | April 9, 2008, 6:06 pm
  21. Thanks for the laughs. Great site. If you guys can stick around for a while without being shut down, I’ll be back often.

    Posted by Ol' Cowboy | April 10, 2008, 9:11 pm
  22. i love your site!

    best satire on the www!

    thanks!
    alicia banks
    OUTLOOK
    aliciabanks.blogspot.com

    Posted by alicia banks | April 11, 2008, 5:43 pm
  23. I really love this site! Especially when people believe the satire is REAL! It’s so skillfully done…Anyway, keep it coming and keep me laughing!

    Posted by Creative Native | April 13, 2008, 12:43 am
  24. About that SSN… I think that numbers 4 and 5 determine whether you got your SSN card in the same place where you were born…I didn’t know the superstition about the 5th number…check it out and see if it works?

    That 5th number thing is too funny!

    Posted by Ann | April 14, 2008, 9:22 pm
  25. your comments to the responses are just as funny as your articles

    Posted by Me | June 28, 2008, 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

The Peoples News on Twitter

The People’s News Archive

invisible hit counter
